Crypto Casino Licenses in 2026: What Each Badge Actually Gets You

Last checked against regulator documents: September 2026.

A license badge answers one question: who, if anyone, can make the casino pay you when it decides not to. Everything else on the badge is decoration.

That question has very different answers depending on the island. A Curaçao license in 2026 means something it did not mean in 2023. An Anjouan license means less than the operator implies, because the government of the country Anjouan belongs to says the bodies issuing those licenses do not legally exist. Kahnawà:ke will take your complaint itself. Costa Rica has no gambling regulator at all.

Below is what each license really covers, who handles your complaint, how to check a license in two minutes, and which license every brand we rate is actually operating under.

The benchmark: UKGC and MGA

Crypto casino license verification with a magnifying glass highlighting a trusted badge among questionable licenses.

The UK Gambling Commission and the Malta Gaming Authority are the yardstick because they do four things offshore regulators mostly don’t: force segregated player funds, require an independent dispute service, mandate responsible gambling tools, and fine or suspend operators often enough that the threat is real. UK operators even have to tell you whether your balance has high, medium or no protection if the company goes under.

None of the crypto-first casinos we rate hold either license. That isn’t an accusation, it’s the business model: UK and Malta rules on KYC, bonuses and crypto don’t fit how these sites operate. So the real comparison for a crypto player is between the offshore options below.

License by license

Curaçao: rebuilt, and finally with teeth

For almost three decades Curaçao ran on master licenses. Four private companies held them and sold sub-licenses to thousands of operators. Nobody meaningful supervised anybody. When a sub-licensed casino refused to pay, the player’s best option was a Dutch court.

That route produced the most useful ruling in offshore gambling history. In late 2024 the Dutch Supreme Court confirmed that master license holder Cyberluck was liable for a Turkish player’s unpaid winnings of 620,000 lira (roughly €17,000) at a casino running under its sub-license, noting that the licensors “have let it get out of hand” (NEXT.io). It didn’t help much. Cyberluck had already been declared bankrupt on 18 October 2024, with more than $1 million in claims pending against it (NEXT.io). And in December 2025 a Curaçao appeals court went the other way on a different master licensee, ruling that Gaming Services Provider owed nothing on $123,000 of winnings because its sub-license had already expired (NEXT.io). If you are still chasing money from the old era, the calendar is working against you.

The new law, the National Ordinance on Games of Chance (LOK), replaced all of that. The dates that matter:

DateWhat changed
24 December 2024LOK in force. The Curaçao Gaming Authority (CGA) becomes the only licensor.
1 January 2025Old sub-licenses stop being valid. Operators need a direct CGA license or a pending application.
15 October 2025Transitional “orange” seals expire.
1 January 2026Local substance required: a Curaçao entity with real presence and resident key persons.
June 2026CGA crypto guideline: funds linked to mixers, tumblers or sanctioned wallets banned immediately; full wallet screening and segregation by June 2027.


Sources: Zitadelle for the transition dates, iGaming Business for the crypto guideline. So if a casino still shows an old master-license number in 2026, it is either lazy or not licensed. Neither is good.

The part players care about is complaints, and here the CGA’s own documents are clearer than most reviews. Under its Player Complaints Policy, the operator gets 4 weeks to resolve your complaint, extendable once by another 4. Responsible gambling complaints get 5 business days. If that fails you can go to a CGA-certified Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) provider, and it costs you nothing: the operator pays.

Is the ruling binding? The CGA’s ADR policy says it “expects” the outcome to be binding on the operator, and the whole process should take 90 days or less. It lets the operator decide whether the outcome also binds you. The CGA doesn’t rule on your case itself and won’t pay you. What it does is certify the ADR providers and treat an operator ignoring rulings as a licensing problem. In plain terms: no court order, but a casino that stiffs an ADR decision is putting its license on the line. That is a real lever, and it didn’t exist before 2025.

Direct CGA licensees include big names like Stake (Medium Rare N.V., license OGL/2024/1451/0918, per its own license page). A new Curaçao license is not a UKGC license. It is the best mass-market offshore option crypto players currently have.

Anjouan: two regulators, and a government that recognizes neither

Anjouan is where operators went when Curaçao got expensive. The pitch is price and speed: Anjouan Gaming’s fee page lists €17,828 to issue a license, €17,828 a year to renew, and €500 per extra domain. A new Curaçao license runs to roughly €52,000 a year before you pay for the mandatory office and staff (Yogonet).

On paper there is a complaint route. Anjouan Gaming says you complain to the operator first, the operator has 30 days to answer (14 days to raise a game-outcome dispute), and ADR is then mandatory and paid by the operator. The same page says the Authority itself “does not handle, mediate, or adjudicate” player complaints. Whether any ADR ruling binds the operator is not stated.

Then it gets strange. A second body, Gaming Control Anjouan (gamingcontrolanjouan.org), publishes its own dispute process in which it mediates and decides complaints itself. Two organisations, same island, opposite rules.

And the Union of the Comoros says neither should exist. In an ABC News investigation published 31 December 2025, the Comoros Central Bank called the Anjouan Offshore Finance Authority, Anjouan Licensing Services and the related gaming bodies “fictitious structures” with no physical or legal existence. The offshore finance authority lost its regulatory status under banking laws passed in 2013 and 2015. ABC named Leon Casino as one operator displaying an Anjouan license while targeting Australians.

What that means in practice: an Anjouan license gives you a written complaint procedure and nobody with state authority behind it. If the operator ignores an ADR decision, there is no recognised regulator to escalate to. Some Anjouan casinos pay perfectly well. They pay because they choose to, not because anyone can make them.

Kahnawà:ke: slower, pricier, and it actually reads complaints

The Kahnawà:ke Gaming Commission has licensed online gambling from the Mohawk Territory near Montreal since 1996. It is not the cheap option. Industry sources put the first year at US$35,000 to US$40,000 and roughly US$20,000 a year after that, plus US$5,000 for each key person permit, and the Commission has announced fee increases from 1 January 2027. New license holders start on a six-month probationary term, and servers must be hosted in the territory.

The difference that matters to you: after you’ve been through the operator’s own process, you can complain to the Commission directly at complaints@gamingcommission.ca. It oversees the process and tries to broker a solution. It also revokes licenses, and publishes the revocations.

One trap nobody mentions: the Commission can refuse or drop your complaint if you’ve already discussed it publicly or contacted the media. So if you’re dealing with a Kahnawà:ke casino, file with the regulator first and post on forums later, not the other way round.

Tobique: the new Canadian option

The Tobique Gaming Commission, set up under the Tobique First Nation’s gambling law of 13 October 2023 in New Brunswick, started licensing online operators in 2024. It sits between Anjouan and Curaçao on cost. Licensees have to offer an approved ADR service and display a validator seal. You can file a complaint through the validator page (validate.thetgc.ca), in English only. It’s too new to judge on enforcement. We’d treat it as a real regulator with no track record yet.

Costa Rica and Panama: not what the footer suggests

Costa Rica doesn’t issue gambling licenses. Operators incorporate locally and hold a municipal permit for data processing. That makes them a legal business, not a regulated casino. There’s no gambling regulator, no ADR, and no rule on segregating your money (Punter2Pro). A Costa Rica “license” is a company registration.

Panama is where several long-running US-facing books sit, BetOnline included, under Panama’s Gaming Control Board. There’s more to it than Costa Rica, but don’t expect a player complaint service. The protection with these brands is a long payment track record, not the regulator.

Who handles your complaint

LicenseOperator’s windowNext stepCost to youWho enforces the outcome
Curaçao (CGA)4 weeks, +4 onceCGA-certified ADR, 90 days or lessFreeCGA, through the operator’s license
Anjouan30 daysADR per Anjouan Gaming, or Gaming Control Anjouan’s own processFree on paperNobody Comoros recognises
Kahnawà:keOperator’s own processThe Commission directlyNo fee listedKGC, up to license revocation
TobiqueOperator’s own processApproved ADR, complaint via validatorNot statedTGC, untested
Costa RicaWhatever support saysNonen/aNobody


Whatever the license, the evidence decides the case: game round IDs, transaction hashes, dated screenshots of the bonus terms as they stood when you opted in, and the timestamps of your KYC uploads. Save them before you complain, not after support goes quiet.

How to verify a license in two minutes

  1. Click the seal in the footer. A static image that goes nowhere is a fail on its own.
  2. Check the domain the seal opens. It has to be the regulator’s, never the casino’s.
    • Curaçao: seals validate on cert.cga.cw. The full list of licensees is in the CGA license register, which also has an enforcement register. The CGA itself warns the downloadable lists may lag behind current status, so trust the live seal over the PDF.
    • Kahnawà:ke: the permit holder list.
    • Tobique: the license holder list and the validator seal.
    • Anjouan: both Anjouan Gaming and Gaming Control Anjouan publish registers. A match there proves the casino paid one of them. Given the Comoros government’s position, it doesn’t prove more than that.
  3. Match the details. The validation page should name the exact domain you’re on and the company in the casino’s terms. A mirror domain that isn’t listed isn’t covered.
  4. Ask support one question: “Which ADR provider do you use?” A licensed Curaçao operator has to have one and should name it immediately. If you get a paragraph about how they value your feedback, you have your answer.

What the brands we rate are licensed under

These are the licenses shown by brands on our lists, checked in September 2026 against each casino’s own footer or license page where we could reach it. Licenses change; the footer on the day you deposit is what counts.

BrandLicenseCompany / license no.
BetOnlinePanamaBetOnline.ag
CloudbetCuraçao (CGA)Direct CGA license
Mega DiceCuraçaoMIBS N.V.
GamegramAnjouanGamegram Ltd, ALSI-202412030-FI2
1xBitAnjouanOceaventure Limited, ALSI-202409027-FI2
MegapariAnjouanPer Megapari’s own site


Two things jump out. Three of our higher-scoring brands carry Anjouan licenses, which is exactly why we don’t give a license badge points in our grading formula: it scores the bonus terms you can read, not the regulator you can’t rely on. And the “ALSI” prefix on those license numbers belongs to the Anjouan licensing structure the Comoros central bank disowned. Neither makes Gamegram or 1xBit bad places to claim a bonus. It means a dispute there is settled by the operator’s goodwill, so size your deposits accordingly.

Why so many crypto casinos left Curaçao

Follow the money. Curaçao now costs several times what Anjouan does, needs a local office and resident staff, and from June 2026 wants blockchain analytics on every deposit and withdrawal. Anjouan costs €17,828 and a few weeks. For a casino whose model depends on aggressive bonuses and loose geo-blocking, that’s an easy call.

The migration isn’t clean. Some brands dropped Curaçao entirely, some stacked an Anjouan license next to a Curaçao application, and some big operators went the other way and paid for direct CGA licenses because payment providers and game studios increasingly ask. A license is now less about players and more about which banks and suppliers will deal with you.

For bonus hunters the consequence is concrete. A lighter regulator means more room for 60x rollovers, seven-day expiries, max cashout caps buried in “general promotion terms” and bonus confiscation after a win. The license doesn’t make a bad bonus good. It decides who you can call when the casino applies the bad bonus to you. Check the terms on our no deposit bonus and Bitcoin bonus lists before you deposit, then check the seal.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Are Curaçao-licensed crypto casinos safe in 2026?

Safer than before. Since the LOK took effect on 24 December 2024, operators need a direct license from the Curaçao Gaming Authority and must offer free, CGA-certified dispute resolution. The CGA expects ADR rulings to be binding on the operator and enforces that through the license. It is still weaker protection than a UK or Malta license.

Is an Anjouan casino license legitimate?

It is a real document from a real organisation, but the Comoros Central Bank has called the Anjouan licensing bodies fictitious structures with no legal existence. The license comes with a written complaint process and no state regulator to enforce it. Payment depends on the operator’s goodwill.

How can I check if a crypto casino license is real?

Click the seal in the footer. It must open a validation page on the regulator’s own domain (cert.cga.cw for Curaçao) that names the exact domain you are on and the company in the casino’s terms. A static image or a page hosted by the casino is a fail.

Who do I complain to if a Curaçao casino won’t pay?

First the operator, which has 4 weeks (extendable once by 4 weeks) to resolve it. After that, the operator’s CGA-certified ADR provider, which is free for you and should decide within 90 days. The CGA does not handle individual complaints itself.

Does a Costa Rica license protect players?

No. Costa Rica does not issue gambling licenses. Operators hold a data-processing business permit, so there is no gambling regulator, no dispute service and no rule on segregating player funds.

Does the license affect how FreeCryptoBonus grades a bonus?

No. Our score is built from the bonus terms: rollover, eligible games, hidden restrictions, expiry, size, ratio and minimum deposit. We list the license so you can judge the dispute risk yourself.

Similar Posts